download contact donate discuss subscribe About Tutorials Resources Showcase News
bugs wiki login

New Squeakland Board

Dear Squeakers,

I'm happy to tell you that we have a new Squeakland Board in place! On our last board meeting at April, 27 we came up with a list of candidates, and everyone accepted. We now have Rita Freudenberg, Cathleen Galas, Walter Bender, Scott Wallace, Ted Kaehler, Randall Caton, Elliot Miranda, Cherry Withers, Kathleen Harness, Marta Voelker, Milan Zimmerman, Carlos Rabassa, and Korakurider on the board.

I want to thank everyone on the previous board for all the work you did during the last year, especially the leaving board members Kim Rose, Yoshiki Oshima, and Tim Falconer.

On the meeting, we also discussed how to proceed with the incorporation of Squeakland. We decided to apply to become a member of the Software Freedom Conservancy (SFC). This is a 501(c)(3) organisation, and all members will get this status, too. Also, SFC will handle the tax issues. SFC is focused on free and open source software projects. We will find out, if Squeakland is eligible, since we do not only focus on software, but on education, too.

We plan to have monthly board meetings, and publish meeting notes afterwards. Let us know if you are interested in joining the meetings!